Line in the Sand

by Matthew Brooks

Let us once again reclaim the title of city on a hill, let us be the beacon of hope and freedom to the rest of the world.  In the fight against apathy and fear we must handle ourselves as gentlemen and scholars, not sinking to their level of hatred and cynicism.  We can bring about a revolution in this country starting now and continuing with the elections in 2014, 2016, 2018 and beyond.  Let no elected official stay in power that has cast a vote or demonstrated a belief in those things which are unconstitutional.

2013 and the 113th Congress may well be our Thermopylae; the turning point in a culture war of social engineering.  The left must be held accountable.  Their rabid desire to rip our God-given rights from our hands should be met with no compromise.  Here we must stand and hold the line my friends, hold the line.

The soon-to-be-retired Congressman Ron Paul has set the standard for all future statesmen and would-be leaders.  Who will pick up where he leaves off and carry the torch of liberty?

Remove the federal government from anything and everything they shouldn’t have their fingers in. Recover the meaning of the 10th Amendment.  Restore the states’ rights and trim the excess away. End entitlements once and for all. End the fiat money system & the Federal Reserve.  It can be done, but only if we fight for that in which we believe.

Shall we continue to play our fiddles? Rome will burn if we do. I don’t intend to let that happen.  What shall our children inherit if we do nothing now, in Her time of need?  A nation, corrupt both morally and politically and financially bankrupt?  Which question will our children ask us as we lay on our death beds, “What did you do to this country?” Or, “What did you do to for country?

I want to look at my son and my daughter and say with conviction that I stood for God and Country, Honor and Integrity; that I carried both my gun and my Bible; that I spoke out against oppression and tyranny; that I spoke up for those that couldn’t speak for themselves.

I want to die an old man, proud yet humble. But I want to die knowing that I lived on my feet, free and a champion for liberty.  Not that I lived my life on my knees, waiting for the government’s check of approval, licking the hand that fed me.

This is the United States of America and we bleed red, white & blue.

Now is the time to stand our ground, as we hold the moral high-ground in this fight.

I urge you to contact your representatives and senators via phone, email, snail mail and smoke signals if necessary.  Remind them that they represent you and that the government derives its just powers from the consent of the governed and it is by our good will and graciousness that they find themselves in office.  Let them know, in no uncertain terms that further usurpation will not be tolerated.

And to those who would willingly choose a world where they are told what to do, when to do it and how to do it by some governmental machinations taking place thousands of miles away from where you now sit, please consider the following words:

“May your chains set lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that you were our countrymen.” – Samuel Adams

Today’s acts of manliness:  When necessary, revolt

